tassosss: (Default)
[personal profile] tassosss
And speaking of slogging along. I mean, I love this series and I'm glad I've got some momentum on it, but it has been work to get it going again.

Sunday Dinner: Melissa (2312 words) by Tassos
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: Teen Wolf (TV)
Rating: General Audiences
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Characters: Sheriff Stilinski, Melissa McCall
Additional Tags: Werewolf Sheriff Stilinski, Dinner, Friendship, Male-Female Friendship, Conversations, Alternate Universe - Canon Divergence
Series: Part 6 of Lycanthropic Optics: Werewolf!Sheriff AU
Summary:

John bumps into Melissa at the hospital. They have a long overdue chat.


writing is a thing again

Sep. 22nd, 2017 07:19 pm
tassosss: (Default)
[personal profile] tassosss
So you know I've been complaining for months about how writing is like pulling teeth? I've been slogging along, working on finishing half finished things (and succeeding), poking at a couple new ideas that haven't stuck, and it's all felt like work and drudgery. Until, this week. When I started an Avvar!Cullen/mage!Trevelyan romance that is all about the dubcon and in basically two sittings have gotten out 5,000 words.

Let's back up. I've basically been writing a little over 5k words a month this year, with some variation, and definitely not in two days. And it wasn't even hard! What is that even? Writing? Not a painful exercise? (Sidenote: on top of that writing at work has been pretty good this week too...)

So, yeah, writing is suddenly fun again. Also, witness me be incredibly uncomfortable writing my own kinks. I mean, lbr, this is an idfic romance at the moment (though with my usual over thinking of how to make the situation work). It's also basically the first part of 7 Brides for 7 Brothers, which makes me feel a little weird 'cause I don't actually like the movie, but, man, I sure as hell love Avvar!AUs, and forced closeness, and bedsharing, and a marriage of convenience, and ALL THE SILLY TROPES. I just prefer reading them to writing them. So I'm trying something new here. It'll help me grow as a person.

Anyway, I'm already worried about finishing it. This is the same feeling I've gotten starting the other three novel length fics that are about half done at ~60k. I'm hoping this one won't be that long. And that I finish it. Wish me luck.

GLOW!

Sep. 22nd, 2017 07:35 am
merisunshine36: white rose floating candle (Default)
[personal profile] merisunshine36
Thirty second post since I *should* be getting ready for work, but....GLOW is AMAZING.

The premise of the show is that Ruth (Alison Brie) is a down on her luck actress who decides to audition for a professional wrestling show. The whole show is based on the real life Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling. I used to watch a fair amount of wrestling as a kid, and I just finished that epic length Superbat wrestling AU, so I was in the mood for more wrestling stuff and GLOW just fell into my lap.

(disclaimer: yes, actual 1980s GLOW is pure sexploitation, and the video I linked has many cringey scenes)

I binge watched the first five episodes after going to RH services with Mr. Merisunshine yesterday. And it is just, everything I want from a comedy? It's this hilarious sendup of all the terrible problems that were very obvious with the real GLOW.  The characters know the whole show is ridiculous but they are making the best of it since they need the job for whatever reason. All the jokes make it very clear to the audience that they do not at all approve of the thing going on. There is even a really great scene that goes something along the lines of:

person a: this is a terrible stereotype!
person b: that's the joke though, it's funny!
person a: but will the audience know it's a joke?

I loved that part so much! This is where a lot of shows fail in my opinion (looking at you, Kimmy Schmidt and Mindy Project) and instead of poking fun at racism/sexism they are just...bad.  

But anyway, serious stuff aside, it's just such a charming cast. So many funny women of different ethnicities and personalities.I care about all of their storylines. It is probably the first and only tv show to have a serious otherkin character, and not only that, she is set up to be empathetic! It's just really sweet and sensitively done, and also there is a lot of spandex and great music and people throwing each other around. 

GLOW! It's on Netflix! Go watch!

What I'm Doing Wednesday

Sep. 20th, 2017 10:01 pm
sage: xkcd: crop of standing male stick figure facing a seated cat and exclaiming, "You're a kitty!" (kitty)
[personal profile] sage
books T. Kingfisher )

yarning

Mom's cat LOVED her kickbunny! I have about a million pics to sort and then find a few to edit into the pattern post, and then the kickbunny pattern will go live. *pleased*

dirt plants log )

There is other stuff, but it will wait.

They All Went Through

Sep. 19th, 2017 06:35 am
calliopes_pen: (lost_spook Mina covets the ring)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
The rest of the nominations have been approved for Yuletide.

✔ Count Dracula (1977)
Characters
✔ Renfield (Count Dracula 1977)
✔ Jonathan Harker (Count Dracula 1977)
✔ Dracula (Count Dracula 1977)
✔ Mina Westenra Harker (Count Dracula 1977)

✔ Dracula (TV 1968)
Characters
✔ Jonathan Harker (Dracula TV 1968)
✔ Mina Harker (Dracula TV 1968)
✔ John Seward (Dracula TV 1968)
✔ Lucy Weston (Dracula TV 1968)

One Fandom So Far, Two To Go

Sep. 18th, 2017 10:11 am
calliopes_pen: (lost_spook Lucy's throat Dracula's ring)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
My nomination list for Yuletide has partially been reviewed. So as of right now, I can confirm this one. I'll let people know when the others make it through.

✔ Dracula - Bram Stoker
Characters
✔ Golden Krone Innkeeper's Wife (Dracula - Bram Stoker)
✔ Jonathan Harker (Dracula - Bram Stoker)
✔ John Seward (Dracula - Bram Stoker)
✔ Dracula (Dracula - Bram Stoker)

Hockey fic recs #19

Sep. 17th, 2017 08:35 pm
snickfic: black and white image of Sidney Crosby, text "Crosby" (sid)
[personal profile] snickfic
You guys, 19 fic recs posts is a lot of posts. This is actually the longest I've been in any one primary fandom. Three and a half years!!

Anyway, here is fic! A bunch of the fics in this list were ones I couldn't believe I hadn't recced before, like surely I had? But I hadn't?? But better late than never. And then there's some brand new stuff as well.

Pens fic )

Other team fic )

Dragon Age Rec

Sep. 17th, 2017 10:56 pm
tassosss: Cullen (Cullen)
[personal profile] tassosss

Exit Light (77427 words) by Dragonflies_and_Katydids
Chapters: 22/22
Fandom: Dragon Age - All Media Types, Dragon Age: Inquisition
Rating: Explicit
Warnings: Creator Chose Not To Use Archive Warnings
Relationships: Iron Bull/Cullen Rutherford, Dorian Pavus/Cullen Rutherford, Iron Bull/Dorian Pavus/Cullen Rutherford, Iron Bull/Dorian Pavus
Characters: Cullen Rutherford, Iron Bull, Dorian Pavus, Cassandra Pentaghast, Cremisius "Krem" Aclassi, various OCs, Cole (Dragon Age)
Additional Tags: Angst, Addiction, Depression, Suicidal Thoughts, D/s, Threesome - M/M/M, Dominance & Submission, Mildly Dubious Consent, Suicide Attempt, POV Cullen Rutherford, Alcohol Abuse/Alcoholism, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder - PTSD
Series: Part 1 of Dawn
Summary: Cullen struggles with his lyrium addiction. Some days are better than others. Or (if you prefer a silly summary for a not-so-silly fic): In which Cullen is suicidally depressed, Dorian is a high-functioning alcoholic, and Bull just wants them both to be happy, except when he wants to crack their heads together for being emotionally stunted idiots. Spoilers galore, particularly for Cullen's, Dorian's, and Bull's personal quests.

Why I loved this: Oh man if you want a heartbreaking, yet amazingly perfect and ultimately hopeful Cullen-has-trauma-can't-deal-but-gets-there-with-Bull-and-Dorian fic this is for you. I feel like this is a story that understands depression (pay attention to the tags, this is not a fluffy fic). Cullen's head is not a nice place and the focus of the story is him and his ultimate survival through a really dark period that begins when he quits lyrium. Starting a relationship with Iron Bull is the beginning, and it enfolds Dorian, who's a mess of issues, and I just really love how this story evolved and they all get through it.
goss: (Rainbow - Paint)
[personal profile] goss
Last night, I finally saw Guardians of the Galaxy 2! Poor Baby Groot, I decided to give him a friend. *g*

Title: Flora Friends
Artist: [personal profile] goss
Rating: PG (partial nudity)
Fandom: DCU, Guardians of the Galaxy
Characters/Pairings: Poison Ivy, Baby Groot
Content Notes: Created for the [community profile] drawesome Challenge #8: Non-Dominant Hand. I used my left hand to draw with pencil and paint with watercolour. I have never tried to use a paintbrush with my non-dominant hand, so I'm really happy with the way it came out. It did take me twice as long (if not more!) than it usually would though, plus my wrist kept cramping from the unaccustomed movement. Also, my name is signed backwards, because for some reason it's easier for my left hand to write stuff mirror-imaged. :b

Preview:


Click here for entire artwork )

annoying Calibre plug-in problems

Sep. 17th, 2017 01:26 am
ratcreature: Tech-Voodoo: RatCreature waves a dead chicken over a computer. (voodoo)
[personal profile] ratcreature
Normally I download fanfic from AO3 into Calibre with that FanFicFare plugin, because that is very convenient and imports all the meta data.

However as of the most recent update (to 2.17.1) it won't download locked content anymore. I get an error that it can't log in, even though my password hasn't changed and I can log in via browser. It also still downloads non-locked fanfic form AO3 without problem. Does anyone else have this problem?

ETA: Googling found me some recent message board posts by the FanFicFare creator, explaining that AO3 has changed its login process to disallow automated tools to download locked stories. That is inconvenient.

time to break out this icon

Sep. 16th, 2017 08:36 pm
trobadora: (Discworld: Hogfather)
[personal profile] trobadora
I don't know where the year went, but suddenly we're here, gearing up for all the Christmas exchanges.

Yuletide just closed nominations over at [community profile] yuletide_admin. (I'll be requesting my perennials again - my once-a-year chance! There's nothing else I want as much, or at least not with as little a chance of getting written elsewhere.)

[community profile] holmestice - which this week announced dates for this year's winter round - is my chance for two other tiny fandoms, plus of course the ones that don't qualify for Yuletide. (I'm planning to add A Study in Emerald and Exit Sherlock Holmes to my ACD and Sherlock requests this time. Exit Sherlock Holmes is a new discovery for me; I stumbled across it earlier this year. Anyone else read it?)

And last but hopefully not least, [community profile] public_call just announced this year's schedule and rules. My nominations this year promise to be Missy-heavy, in addition to the usual things. :D

Oh, and even [community profile] holly_poly, which has a January deadline, has already posted a tentative schedule! And here, too, there will definitely be more Missy nominations for me in addition to my Twelve/Missy/Jack OT3.

(Btw, speaking of Missy, over at [community profile] missy_fest we've revealed the first of the Missy This Fic remixes, and the rest will be revealed every other day. It's a tiny fest with only four participants total! But it was totally worth it, and there's some amazing Missy fic to read. ♥)
goss: (Window)
[personal profile] goss
  1. Mail!
    [personal profile] aerye, your letter came in the mail today! The Wonder Woman stamps are the COOLEST! :D :D And the card was such a perfect match. What a cute little surprise to come home to. <3

  2. Drawing
    I'm thinking about participating in Inktober this year. It's encouraging to note that daily posting isn't the only way to take part - there's also the option of doing an ink drawing every other day or simply once a week during the month of October, which would work for me. Lately, I've gotten quite comfortable doing art using a combination of pencil shading and watercolour, so it would be a good opportunity to move out of my comfort zone and get practice using pens and ink.

    I'm also thinking about integrating the challenge into the community activities at [community profile] drawesome - maybe encourage members to create weekly posts sharing Inktober entries they work on, over the next month.

  3. Chris Cornell
    Ever since his death, and especially in the last month or so, his voice, his music's been stuck in my head all the time. It's weirdly disconcerting. It's like my brain can't seem to process or get over a loss that I didn't even think about or miss until it was gone.

  4. TV
    In the two weeks since the school term has started, I've watched more tv than the entire summer vacation. I've been losing 1-2 hours sleep every night catching up on Orphan Black (S5) and Wynonna Earp (all of S2), and just started The Defenders this evening. I feel like it's been working as a great distraction to ease me back into the work stress, and it's what's been getting me through the last couple weeks.

  5. I know I probably say this every Friday, but OMG THIS WEEK WAS THE LONGEST. Weekend, I *truly* LOVE YOU.


calliopes_pen: (sallymn Xena life before coffee)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
I found out what my computer model is. Until now, all I knew (since what was once written was lost to the mists of time, as the sticker wore off at some point) was it was just HP Compaq, since we hadn’t found the old paperwork for it as of yet. So I’m posting this mainly for my own sake, should I lose track of where I made a note of that.

HP Compaq dx2450 Microtower. I went to the support page for HP, and found the method for determining the type a particular model is.

So how did I find out? First, hit the plus sign around the Option 2 section. Their way didn’t work for me, and we never had HP Support Assistant in this computer, for whatever reason even back when it was still XP and would have had those original files. However, figure 1 mentions System Information. Typed in that, and the window that came up had everything, including a section for System Model. And there we have it.

Judging by this press release, it came out around April of 2008, if not earlier. Granted, my model was 32 bit, not the 64 bit they’re announcing. If that’s accurate, that means that the date I previously estimated is off by a few years. Should it make it another few months to 2018 prior to it being replaced, this one’s still going to have made it at least a decade. And should it still survive, we'll have it around as a spare, should its replacement have issues, or should Dad's laptop have problems down the line.

Reading Meme on my day off

NSFW Sep. 15th, 2017 09:51 am
glinda: Hera quote text: No I tried to SEE if I could kill you. For Science! (semantics/for science!)
[personal profile] glinda
( You're about to view content that the journal owner has advised should be viewed with discretion. )

No More HP Printers For Me

Sep. 14th, 2017 08:38 am
calliopes_pen: (lost_spook enough necromancy)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
Thanks to a firmware update from HP that was pushed yesterday, I believe I can safely cross off HP printers from my list of potential printer purchases.

Basically, the update blocks all non-HP ink from functioning correctly. There weren’t that many from HP that I had included on my list just yet, thanks to everybody's recommendations and advice (thank you for it, by the way) along the lines of Canon, Epson, and Brother.

This merely narrows the field a little more for me.

I'm reading a book!

Sep. 13th, 2017 08:40 pm
tassosss: Cullen (Cullen)
[personal profile] tassosss
I always get so excited when I can actually make a Wednesday book reading post. I mean, it's not that I'm not reading constantly, just that I'm not reading books constantly.

Anyway. I'm reading Blood, Sweat, and Pixels by Jason Schreier which is non-fiction about the video game industry, and just how games get made. It goes in depth into the development of ten games, each structured to highlight an aspect of the industry and what made getting that particular game to market so fucking complicated. One of them is Dragon Age Inquisition, which is why I bought it, but the whole thing has been fascinating so far. Also makes me appreciative that I'm not in the gaming industry where there seems to be zero work/life balance.

What I'm Doing Wednesday

Sep. 13th, 2017 05:15 pm
sage: a white stag on a black background, captioned "Yuletide" (yuletide)
[personal profile] sage
books Benjamin January #1-2 )

dirt plants log )

healthcrap
every damn thing is flaring right now. I have pain in my hands and wrists that I've never had before, to the point that I'm wearing my PT elbow braces to type in. I finally located my elbow night brace & now have only to de-lint it. Possibly if I start sleeping in both carpal braces & at least one elbow brace, I can fix this.

Yuletide!
Yuletide noms close in 2 1/2 days, and I don't know what to nom. I don't know what -- if anything -- I'm qualified to write for this year. Except, at the same time, I feel like I've got a story in me. God knows I've read enough this year to be able to offer a ton of book fandoms. *ponders* Oh! I should make sure that Early Modern London Theatre RPF has Annie Shakespeare in it so I can request Will/Kit/Annie hijinks. And I should probably make sure the right muppets are nommed. Hmm, what else?

Note To Self

Sep. 13th, 2017 12:51 pm
calliopes_pen: (wolfbane_icons coffin Dracula fire)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
Next year, I will try to remember to nominate Dracula The Undead, by Freda Warrington. (Not the Dacre Stoker novel of the same name) I love that unofficial continuation of the novel, and I have a prompt I'd love to see written someday. I just never have room and/or never think to nominate it until I've already done my nominations.

The Quest For A Printer Continues

Sep. 12th, 2017 01:50 pm
calliopes_pen: (54 IJ Edith silhouette books)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
For when I eventually replace the printer that I had to toss out, I have a question for those on my reading/friends list. I’ve only had inkjets from HP up until now (I don’t know the names right now) and that last one never really worked right, while the first lasted about 15 years before it died.

Would anyone recommend any particular Epson or Brother printer models? I only recently heard of them for the first time during my research, so I don't know much about those brands. Or is HP still a good one to stick with for inkjet printers, despite that last one? I considered the HP Envy 7640, but was turned away by bad reviews I was reading for that particular model.

What I'm looking for is a reliable color inkjet printer, even if it's primarily documents I would be printing.

Is laser better/cheaper in the long run?

Dear Trick or Treat writer:

Sep. 12th, 2017 07:01 pm
jain: (watchmaker of filigree street katsu)
[personal profile] jain
Thanks so much for writing for me! I really enjoyed participating in Trick or Treat last year and am looking forward to doing so again. I hope you have a lot of fun, too!

My signup requests are all for fic, but I'm happy to receive art as a bonus gift.

With one exception, I have a strong preference for Tricks that either 1) use supernatural horror tropes in a non-horrific fashion, e.g. werewolves who retain their humanity while shifted, or 2) involve scary supernatural threats that are soundly defeated by the protagonists for a happy ending. The one exception is Dark Matter, where I'd prefer canon-level horror.

Particularly relevant to this exchange: I like werewolves, ghosts, and witches; am generally disinterested in vampires but can be persuaded if the fic is awesome; and do not want zombies. Regarding Treats, I like anything from G-rated fluff to hardcore porn, but don't care for PWPs; I like some sort of character and/or relationship development along with my smut. If you want further details on my fic preferences, you can check out my general fic kinks and squicks post or browse my fic exchanges tag.

The Bone Key, Dark Matter, The Eagle, Hexworld, Integrate, Lynes and Mathey, The Queen's Thief, The Watchmaker of Filigree Street )

Profile

Comics Reviews, ETC

October 2013

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516 171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 23rd, 2017 02:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios