elf: Rainbow sparkly fairy (Default)
[personal profile] elf
Didn't I already do this one? Like, twice? Wait; this list has both "preteen years" and "childhood" songs - am I supposed to consider those as two separate, distinct categories? Does "preteen" mean 10-13 and "childhood" mean before that? If that's the case, then I messed up the "preteen" thing, because from where I am now, that's an awfully narrow slice to try to sort out. I mean, there are plenty of online lists that could help me put songs into the before-and-after 10th birthday groupings, or whatever it intended, but I'm really not going there.

But okay; I do actually have a playlist of "early childhood" songs, so I can grab a few from there. Even though several of them are TV show theme songs.

...omg, there's a whole generation who doesn't understand how nerve-wracking it was to watch them never get off that damn island.

Tom Dooley | I Wish I Was a Teddy Bear | Ballad of Gilligan's Island | Seasons in the Sun | Welcome Back | Queen of the Silver Dollar | The Aba Daba Honeymoon | Keep Your Eye on the Sparrow

Manah Manah was not my favorite back then. )

Meme list

broadchurch.

Jul. 22nd, 2017 06:32 pm
naushika: (Killjoys - Dutch - b&w)
[personal profile] naushika
As we all must know by now, the next Doctor on Doctor Who will be a woman. (Yaaas.) This is coinciding with Moffat finally leaving. I always said I'd give Who another go once he's gone, and I am going to be true to my word and see if the new showrunner's any good!

In order to ease myself back into it, I thought I'd get to know the new Doctor's actress a little. She's done lots of stuff but Broadchurch was on my netflix so it was easiest to watch and I'd heard good things about it, so I decided to watch. And OMG am I glad I did. I LOVED IT!!! I mean, new Doctor aside, I really loved the show. (I mostly forgot that she was the reason I started watching the show after about 2 episodes.) I would say it's basically a Brit version of The Killing, which I adored. One case/story over a long period (multiple seasons), lady cop that I LOVE*, unlikely partnership that scratches my itches in all the right ways.. YES GOOD THANKS.

I'm really sad they only did 3 series of Broadchurch. :((((( And Hardy/Miller is my ship flavor of the moment now.

*so my love for Ellie Miller is just like, okay, she's so optimistic and wants to save the world and she endures unimaginable pain, such a specific kind that very few people have to go through (trying not to spoil here), but she comes out the other side and she's STILL optimistic and STILL upbeat and STILL so empathetic and that's her best feature THAT'S what helps her solve crimes THAT'S what makes her so crucial to Hardy, so irreplacable, and no she's not perfect by any means, but her humanity is what gives her the edge and helps her see the things he misses - that and her CRAZY CRIMESOLVING WALLS (my favorite) - that helps her connect to victims she fights for, and she doesn't let Hardy's gruffness get to her, she's just like oh shut up, she's amazingly strong to be there for the best friend that hates her, and I just???? LOVE??? HER?????!!!!! Here's a convenient list of Miller's 10 best moments ahahha my laughter devolves into sobbing because I love her so much.

HERE HAVE A RANDOM PICSPAM I MADE b/c I love Hardy and Miller so muh-huh-huch



P A R T N E R S.

Rest In Peace, John Heard

Jul. 22nd, 2017 12:14 pm
calliopes_pen: (taibhrigh hear the Ood song)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
John Heard has passed away at the age of 72. May he rest in peace. He was found dead in his hotel room yesterday, two days after having minor back surgery. He might be most well known for the role of Peter McAllister (Kevin’s father) in the first two Home Alone films. I also vaguely remember him from Cat People (1982).

photos, weekly rec

Jul. 22nd, 2017 12:36 pm
tassosss: (Default)
[personal profile] tassosss
I'm still waiting for my photobucket links to break with a kind of fascination of watching a crash in slow mo. I pretty much only use photobucket for fanish stuff, and that sparingly since I don't do a lot of art, mostly banners and things these days. I haven't lost access to my account yet.

But really that had me browsing through pictures on my phone recently since that's my main camera for recording my life, and it's kind of hilariously made up of two things for the past few months: bread in various stages and animals that my cat has killed and brought to the door. Which is even more hilarious when you know that my 1st grade science project was titled "Animals that my cats catch." So yeah.

Anyway. I'm making regular loaf bread today from the Joy of Cooking, and tomorrow I'm going to do Casatiello, which is an enriched Italian bread that has chunks of cheese and salami in it. I haven't gone grocery shopping for the extra ingredients yet, which is why it's waiting till tomorrow.

Been working on my Teen Wolf fic this week. I'm kind of feeling like I want to clear off what's ongoing before starting something really new. I'm still messing with Dragon Age short fic, but I don't really have a direction for a lot of that, though I'm thinking I might once I get to some mysterious critical mass.

Still been reading a lot of Dragon Age fic. This week's rec is
Haven (256723 words) by SageFic
Rating: Mature
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: Cullen Rutherford/Female Mage Trevelyan
Summary: Kate Trevelyan, mage and earnest, genteel nerd, travels to the Conclave with Colleen Lavellen, an ex-Dalish-turned-librarian, and Robert Trevelyan, her charming smuggler cousin. But when the Divine's peace talks explode, Robert falls in with bad company, Coll finds herself chasing mercs, and Kate becomes...the Herald of Andraste? Sort of. Kate has absolutely NO idea what she’s doing, and her growing attraction to a certain former templar isn’t helping.

Why I love it: This covers just the time in Haven starting a little before the game with some really great character work throughout. Basically I love this story for the conversations you get between characters. It delves into the mage-templar conflict, and really sets up a nice discussion between mage!Trevelyan and Cullen about Kirkwall that is really well done and not seen very often. Early scenes include Divine Justinia, and there's a lot of good daily life included. It diverges enough from gameplay to keep it interesting. I'm not a huge fan of the Lavellen or male!Traveleyan characters that are included, or the epistolary chapters, but over all it's good.



quick crossover rec

Jul. 22nd, 2017 11:12 am
ratcreature: RatCreature smokes Crack (crack)
[personal profile] ratcreature
Yer a Wizard, Parser! by takumiismypatronus. Slash, Kent Parson/OMC (8586 words)
Check Please!/Harry Potter
This was such a fun crossover, and somewhat unusually for Harry Potter crossovers it is not AU for either canon.
elf: Petalwing, singing (Petalwing Singing)
[personal profile] elf
Oh good. Back to song topics that don't make me want to rip my hair out.

Had to stop and think about this one, because "love the voice" is not high on my priority lists for songs I enjoy most. But for a long time, I listed my favorite type of music as "anything with a baritone voice and acoustic guitar."

What You Need | Dance Magic | I'm on Fire | Love Is Chemical | Holly Holy | Wherefore and Why | Stay Young | The Warrior | Rainy Days & Mondays | Delta Dawn | It's So Easy

And one where the vocals are so pretty, I almost forget that I love the lyrics, too )

Meme list
dorothy1901: Gilda: Put the blame on Mame (Default)
[personal profile] dorothy1901
The USS Constitution, the oldest commissioned warship in the world (first launched in 1797), has been restored. There's a pretty interesting article on the restoration in today's Boston Globe, with photographs and diagrams. (So that's where the orlop deck is!)

Link: A look inside the USS Constitution’s restoration. (Note: the Boston Globe has a paywall, but I believe that non-subscribers can read up to five articles for free.)

Rest In Peace, Deborah Watling

Jul. 21st, 2017 12:09 pm
calliopes_pen: (sallymn Brigadier raining)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
Deborah Watling has passed away, at the age of 69, following a battle with lung cancer. May she rest in peace. She played the role of Victoria Waterfield, companion to the Second Doctor, on Doctor Who. Unfortunately, most of her episodes were destroyed.

The Tomb of the Cybermen and The Enemy of the World managed to survive from her tenure on the series, along with the second episode of the serial The Evil of the Daleks.
elf: John Egbert with a rocketpack, captioned "THIS IS STUPID" in all caps. (This is stupid)
[personal profile] elf
I'm behind again. This time it's not because I forgot or got too busy. Who MAKES these damn lists, anyway? Don't answer that. I know who. Teenagers, or maybe college students. People who think, "reliving heartbreak is a poignant moment, an interlude of quiet sadness in the midst of your hectic day," and not "reliving heartbreak is like walking naked into fire, so of course I'd want to share that with all my friends and casual acquaintances who knows how many strangers on the internet."

So I've spent a couple days trying to nudge the question from the side, trying to consider songs that I think of as heartbreaky without sending myself into a downward spiral that could take weeks to recover from.

Today doesn't get a list, and it doesn't get a video. [personal profile] mdlbear posted that Jordin Kare has died.

I remember one filksong from my first year at BayCon - Leslie Fish's "Banned from Argo," sung in the back corner of a party room by four people sharing a copy of Westerfilk. The next year, I went looking. I remember one song from my second year - Jordin Kare singing "The Bride of Saint-Germain."

I wrote about this before. Bride of Saint-Germain has, as far as I know, never been recorded. It's certainly never been publicly released. And now, no matter how well the OTW does in its struggles to get fanworks accepted as fair use, no matter what kind of precedents vidders win from congress... he's never going to record even one of the fannish concert versions that sometimes make their way to Youtube.

I loved Jordin's music; I have both Fire in the Sky and Parody Violation and I can sing along with all of them, even if I don't quite know all the words. The song that breaks my heart is the one I'll never hear again.

Meme list

Advantages of a two-house household

Jul. 21st, 2017 12:36 am
fairestcat: Dreadful the cat (Default)
[personal profile] fairestcat
For those who don't know, we live in an up/down duplex. Marna, Ian and I live upstairs and Lorayne has the downstairs, with two spare rooms for any guests of upstairs or downstairs.

Lorayne also has two window AC units. One of which is in her big spare bedroom. We do not have any AC upstairs, just a lot of fans.

It's been hot and humid as fuck in Ottawa for the last week. It's finally starting to cool down, but the heat is really lingering upstairs. Last night I couldn't fall asleep because of it.

So, I said fuck it and am sleeping downstairs tonight.

Dreadful followed me downstairs and was staring forlornly out the screen door, so we invited him in. So, Dreadful's sleeping downstairs too tonight.

Rayne's cats, Kina and Chakra, are less than impressed.

They've met Dreadful before, and even lived with him for a week when we stripped the wainscotting in the kitchen several years ago, so we're not worried it'll come to blows overnight or anything. They'll cope. And I think Dreadful is enjoying the change of scenery.

Also, the lack of dog.

Oh yeah, we got a dog. We've had him for about a month. Our intent was to foster him, but Marna fell in love, so now he's ours.

His name is Bogart, we think he's some sort of pointer cross, but he was rescued from the Everglades, so we can't be sure. He's about 18 months old and weighs about 40 pounds. He's a sweetheart, but he has some behavioral issues we're working on.

And Dreadful has NOT reconciled himself to this new family member yet. He's never lived with a dog before, and he's not sure he wants to now. They're cohabiting relatively peacefully, but Dreadful is still keeping his distance.

ETA: and then Kina and Dreadful got in a fight in the hallway. So much for not coming to blows. So, now they're locked on opposite sides of the dog gate for the night.

*sigh*

fic! (Tony Stark/May Parker)

Jul. 20th, 2017 06:56 pm
merisunshine36: white rose floating candle (Default)
[personal profile] merisunshine36
This is the first fic I've written in ages. It made me super happy to write. I pulled a writing all-nighter and went to bed at 4 a.m. one day!

My tastes have not changed at all in the interim, obviously. I am deeply, horribly in love with Marisa Tomei!May Parker. The movie made her an interesting woman full of life instead of a sweet, grandmother shaped cardboard cutout. And there must be so much going on in her brain during Peter's transition to spiderhood - it's not just her adopted son being out late at night, it's that he's sneaking out and lying to her less than a year after her husband was murdered in the street.

In fact, the more I think about it, the more I am highly skeptical she never found the spider suit. I mean, worried American parent + kid recovering from traumatic event + kid disappearing and coming home wounded = I suspect Kid is in a gang and/or involved with drugs. I guarantee you she has ransacked his room at least once looking for drug paraphernalia. And the ceiling hatch is such an obvious hiding spot!

Interestingly, this is not my rarest rarepair fic. That honor still belongs to the Rita Sue/Jonesy fic I wrote for Carnivale fandom, which to this day remains an n of 1.

Anyway, story.

The Second Time Around (5154 words) by merisunshine36
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: Marvel Cinematic Universe, Captain America (Movies), Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
Rating: Explicit
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: May Parker (Spider-Man)/Tony Stark
Characters: May Parker (Spider-Man), Tony Stark
Additional Tags: teenage summer love, Grief/Mourning, Past Relationship(s), Background Character Death, Older Characters, Shameless Smut, Consensual Underage Sex, Lies, no infidelity
Summary:

This isn't the first time Tony and May have met. It's not even the first time they've been in each other's pants.

Rest In Peace, Trevor Baxter

Jul. 20th, 2017 10:20 am
calliopes_pen: (lost_spook Lucy's throat Dracula's ring)
[personal profile] calliopes_pen
Trevor Baxter has passed away at the age of 84. May he rest in peace. For Doctor Who fans, he played Professor George Litefoot in the episode The Talons of Weng-Chiang. He reprised the role for Big Finish Productions, in Doctor Who: The Companion Chronicles: The Mahogany Murderers, and a series called Jago & Litefoot.

Having looked through his filmography, I see that he was in two episodes of Mystery And Imagination*--The Body Snatcher and Feet Foremost; I believe those are in the portion that are sadly lost. He was also in Jack The Ripper (1988) in the role of Lanyon--that one also starred Michael Caine, Lysette Anthony (Angelique from Dark Shadows 1991), and Susan George (Lucy in Dracula 1968). I have always meant to watch that one, so I’ll track it down. I think I spotted it at DailyMotion earlier, divided into parts.

*Come to think of it, that's two from Mystery And Imagination that have died in the last two months. Peter Sallis was the other one.
fairestcat: naked woman reading. vintage (Reading)
[personal profile] fairestcat
As promised, some books I've read:

Point of Hopes (Astreiant, #1) - Melissa Scott & Lisa A. Barnett -
★★★★

Complicated mystery plot in a fascinating, intricately-crafted fantasy universe.

I really appreciated the casually mainstreamed queerness in the worldbuilding. read more )

The Ruin of a Rake - Cat Sebastian - ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This book has everything I loved about Sebastian's previous books. Complicated, flawed and messily human characters, a clear-eyed and intelligent class analysis and a refreshingly unapologetic queerness. read more )

Point of Knives (Astreiant #1.5) - Melissa Scott - ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

A satisfying mystery with an even-more-satisfying beginning of a romance between the main characters as they transition from people who sleep with each other occasionally to people who'd like to have a romantic relationship with each other. read more )

Peter Darling - Austin Chant ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

An amazing queer, trans reimagining of the Peter Pan story. read more )

The Horse Mistress: Book 1 - R.A Steffan - ★ ★ ★

Enjoyable poly fantasy with a genderqueer protagonist. read more )

A Boy Called Cin - Cecil Wilde - ★ ★ ★ ★

I'd describe this book as an aspirational romance. It's a delightful, cozy fairytale of an idealized relationship. And that's not a bad thing. I think there's value particularly in queer aspirational romances. read more )

There Will Be Phlogiston (Prosperity, #5) - Alexis Hall ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I picked this up because it was free and I'd heard good things about the author, but honestly I was mostly expecting a smutty, poly diversion.

What I got was so much more. read more )

Chasing Cameron: the complete series - Hanna Dare - ★ ★ ★ ★

A series of m/m novellas with a lot of sex, not all of it between, or only between, the two protagonists.

I was really pleasingly surprised by how non-mononormative this series is. read more )
fairestcat: Dreadful the cat (Default)
[personal profile] fairestcat
One of the benefits of the new mood-stabilizer is that I'm reading again. After reading my way through a shit-ton of fanfic, I'm now switching between fanfic and pro novels.

I'm mostly only interested in reading queer stories at the moment, which has meant a lot of queer romances and also SF/F with queer characters and relationships.

I started with everything ever written by KJ Charles and OMG was that a good choice. Her stuff is AMAZING. Highly, highly recommended. She writes m/m historical romances, some straight historicals, some fantasy. One of the things I love historical queer romances because I love reading about queer people in history being happy, and Charles' books totally fill that desire.

A lot of queer historicals, or at least a lot of the ones I've read, are really interested in class and the intersection of class and sexuality and how that impacts relationships. Class differences are at the heart of almost all of Charles' books and it makes for a great lens through which to look at the various historical periods she writes in. The other thing that makes me happy about her books is that very few of her protagonists are uncomfortable with or tortured about their sexuality, which is again really refreshing to read about.

Then I moved on to Cat Sebastian's regency romances which I also highly recommend. Again with the queers being happy and not angsting about their sexualities and again with the class and anxiety about class differences being a significant factor in all the relationships.

I also highly recommend Joanna Chambers' Enlightenment series, in which one of the characters is quite guilty about his sexuality, which is possibly more realistic, but doesn't appeal to my id in quite the same way.

It was at about this point in my dive into books again that I got myself a Goodreads account, which is here, and started actually reviewing stuff as I read it.

Several people I read here regularly post reviews of the books they've read on their journals, and I think I'm going to start being one of them, I'm not going to commit to any specific schedule, but expect semi-regular book posts (the first going up directly after I finish writing this post).

The other thing I'm loving about Goodreads is having a place a list of books I've been recced that look interesting. I'm almost entirely reading digitally these days, mostly on Kobo. So, when I want to read something new I can go to my Goodreads to-read shelf and see what strikes my fancy. There are a lot of books with poly relationships in there right now, because I specifically solicited recs for queer, poly stories on twitter.

If you're curious my to-read shelf is here, and I'm always taking recs. Nothing too serious or dense right now, I'm still easing my way back into this reading gig.

What I'm Doing Wednesday

Jul. 19th, 2017 09:36 pm
sage: close up of a slice of lemon held up against the sky, dripping (lemon)
[personal profile] sage
books (Christie, Arendt) )

allergy mystery food challenge weirdness )

pockets a happy shopping adventure )

yarning
Friday is the 6 month anniversary of the Women's March, so now I have another calendar deadline for showing at least one version of my current project. (I'm struggling to convince myself that I AM ALLOWED to revise later.) I've spent all day today working on it, and all evening redesigning a crucial piece. There's so much yet to do, but I'm learning so much.

Annnd I just realized I didn't post this earlier. Oops?

Art (Wonder Woman)

Jul. 19th, 2017 09:18 pm
goss: (Rainbow - Pencils)
[personal profile] goss
Title: Bulletproof
Artist: [personal profile] goss
Rating: G
Fandom: DCU, Wonder Woman (2017)
Characters/Pairings: Diana
Content Notes: This is a quick one, sketched with pencil. Don't have the time to do a proper watercolour painting job as yet. So in the mean time, I've added some digital tinting in Photoshop, as well as played around with the lighting. I actually like the results. ^___^

Created for the [community profile] drawesome Weekly Challenge #3: Song Lyric Prompt. Inspired by Titanium by David Guetta featuring Sia (Ricochet, you take your aim, fire away...).

Preview:


Click here for entire artwork )

Profile

Comics Reviews, ETC

October 2013

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516 171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 23rd, 2017 10:33 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios